Daily Anarchist Forum
August 15, 2022, 08:48:59 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the Daily Anarchist Forum!

Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Open Source Software  (Read 4713 times)
xphoenix

View Profile
« on: September 11, 2011, 07:52:49 PM »

I've been trying to come up with some ideas for free software (I'm a programmer by profession) that would be useful to a variety of people.  I realize that open source software is exactly that, but I'm short on ideas.  My question for the forum is: what is on your wish list for free software or what open source software do you currently use that needs improvement? 

Part of the problem is that I don't have any immediate software needs so it makes it difficult to get started from the standpoint of solving my own problems.  I'd really like to start or find an existing project that needs some work.
Seth King
Administrator

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2011, 09:03:04 PM »

Are you a fan of Bitcoin? If you are, I have a suggestion that wouldn't be too difficult, I don't think.

Since I installed the Bitcoin client to play with it and learn more about it, I decided to offer my 2' x 3' flags for sale in Bitcoin. Problem is that there is no Bitcoin payment module for osCommerce.

OsCommerce is a pretty decent little open source store that I am running for DA Store. There is one person who made a module for Bitcoin, but apparently it doesn't work. If you solved that problem it would be pretty bad ass.

I guess I should also ask, what programming languages do you know? PHP? Ruby? Perl?

If you're not a fan of Bitcoin I might be able to think of some other ideas.

When are you moving to New Hampshire?
xphoenix

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2011, 08:27:50 PM »