Daily Anarchist Forum
October 16, 2019, 06:03:18 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the Daily Anarchist Forum!

Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Pretty cool homesteading video  (Read 4216 times)
Seth King
Administrator

View Profile WWW
« on: May 02, 2014, 03:07:12 PM »

http://vimeo.com/63333459

I'm sure there are tons of videos like this out on the web.

I thought this was pretty cool and would like to get involved in these sorts of things. Unfortunately, I am a total noob. I'm hoping that as the FSP grows there will be more people that have these skills and can share them with others. I'm not interested in homesteading because of climate change. I'm eager to do it because I love the idea of food and heat independence. Anywho, I could go on and on but maybe I'll save my experiences and thoughts for a blog post in the future.

When are you moving to New Hampshire?
Syock
Epic

Existing Beyond Time

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2014, 04:11:54 PM »

I've seen this guy before.  Unfortunately most of what you will find on this topic is disingenuous if you are interested in food independence.  They will grow plenty of apples and veggies, but be lacking on what tends to really compose the bulk of the average persons diet.  They will be lacking the wheat or rice and meat that most people really live on.  This guy actually gets people to pay him, to come to his place, and plant his rice for him.  It works for him since people consider it learning, but sooner or later people will figure out how to grow rice without paying to do it for him.  

I also wish I could smack people whenever they say "free" in regards to energy.  He just doesn't recognize that the energy is lost due to inefficient design of the stove he likes so much.  

Edit: