Daily Anarchist Forum
October 21, 2019, 06:14:44 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the Daily Anarchist Forum!

Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Another "Warlord Argument" from a statist....  (Read 4109 times)
johnhorton91
Jr. Deluxe Anarchist

View Profile
« on: June 27, 2012, 10:47:36 PM »

I was talking with some statist and he claimed that private security firms would gang up, eliminate competing firms and create a government. He also claimed that the richest guy would become a dictator. I'm relatively new to the whole anarchy thing so I need to practice arguing my point better. (Sorry if this has already been discussed in another thread)

"Of all tyrannies a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive..." ~ C.S. Lewis
JustSayNoToStatism
Daily Anarchist Crew

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2012, 11:17:23 PM »

In my opinion, Stefan Molyneux has done a good job of explaining why this would be difficult to do. Note that he has addressed this topic dozens of times, so if you check out some of his other videos, you will inevitably stumble upon some more.

This video had a big impact on me when I first saw it. I've linked to the part that seems most relevant.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2gK2xB9F9Ag#t=51m30s

"I like to eat. Instead of a monarch I propose we have a Chef be final arbiter in matters. We'll call it anarcho-chefism."
-MAM
Seth King
Administrator

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2012, 11:19:01 PM »

Just remind him that the most powerful people in the world now don't use their own money to wage evil wars. They use our money. People even as rich as Rockefeller would go bankrupt in a month funding their own war.

When are you moving to New Hampshire?
Hanzo

Deprived Ninja

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2012, 11:46:06 PM »