Daily Anarchist Forum
August 18, 2019, 12:13:32 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the Daily Anarchist Forum!

Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anarchy and the Arts  (Read 3620 times)
ErikAnarchy

View Profile
« on: March 02, 2012, 02:30:47 PM »

How would an An-Cap society handle entertainment (ex. Films, tv, etc.) As an aspiring filmmaker I sometimes ponder this. I'd like to hear your thoughts.
ff42

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2012, 03:57:18 PM »

For me there is only one principle - Do not initiate harm (i.e. threatened or actual force or fraud). 

I'm a bit confused about your question, particularly the word 'entertainment'.  Are you talking about the use of minors in adult films, of copyright issues, of simulated harm?
ErikAnarchy

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2012, 05:05:55 PM »

I should clarify. How would issues of supposed moral or ethical issues be handled in entertainment. For instance, how would a community deal with material considered obscene (and I know obscenity is a relative term). Would there be perhaps a non invasive entity? Like a communal MPAA?
dpalme
Solder Monkey

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2012, 07:31:06 PM »

For movies, there are trailers/commercials, if people see that there is something they deem immoral, well then no one is forcing them to watch that movie. In the same vein, if the filmmaker is worried about people thinking the movie isn't ethical, then they don't have to make it.

It's simple really. . .unless you meant something else.

http://cur.lv/fgf0 <--- Accepting bitcoins!
Will

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2012, 08:20:43 PM »