Daily Anarchist Forum
December 07, 2019, 10:37:23 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the Daily Anarchist Forum!

Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Anarchocapitalism leads to Minarchism with Monopolies?  (Read 11341 times)
thldmz
« on: June 26, 2012, 05:03:18 PM »

i am new to anarchocapitalism and am a former ron paul supporter, so i apologize if this is a dumb question.
how would an anarchocapitalist soceity stop monopolies? if, for example, a dro/pda company grew and grew and become a monopoly, would this not lead to minarchism? i have heard the counterargument that consumers would boycott a monopolistic company and it would go out of business, but this fails to account for income inequality. in the united states, the top 20% of americans own 85% of the country's wealth (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/We_are_the_99%25). if the top 20% are fine with the monopolistic dro/pda, than the other 80% boycotting the company would only result in a 15% loss in profit, so the company would continue to expand, run the other companies out of business, and become a government. would measures could/would be put in place to stop this from happening?
Seth King
Administrator

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2012, 05:12:19 PM »

The top 20% of wealth owners may own 85% of the wealth, but how often do they agree? Besides, if you're really worried about monopolies, then you should be boycotting the state. I do!

Welcome to the forum!

When are you moving to New Hampshire?
JustSayNoToStatism
Daily Anarchist Crew

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2012, 05:14:38 PM »